Festive Frolic

The final races of the year took place on Sunday 29th December. With a steady breeze were on tap Race 1 began with a Le Mans start from the club mast to the get the blood pumping and burn off some of those Christmas calories! The fleet of mostly Dart 18s, a Tornado and a Laser EPS (who’d made the journey from WKSC) set off with varying degrees of success from the beach to round the first marks with Darts leading the way. The Tornado of Mat Pollock and Pete Clements soon caught up though and was leading by the leeward mark and on to claim line honours. However, the lead of the Tornado was not enough for the win on corrected time. That honour went to Lee Matthews and Chantelle Neighbour with James and Cameron Douglas 2nd and Simon Moruzzi third. The second race was a more standard start with the Tornado opting for a port flyer and again taking the lead to claim line honours but corrected time gave the win to James and Cameron Douglas with Lee and Chantelle second and Simon third.

Thanks to Will Thompson and James for braving the cold and making the racing happen! Also thanks to Sue Moruzzi and Sandra for providing some much need after sailing food.

Overall results were:

  1. James and Cameron Douglas, D18
  2. Lee Matthews and Chantelle Neighbour, D18
  3. Simon Moruzzi, D18
  4. Michael Moruzzi and Louis, D18
  5. Mal Taylor, D18
  6. Billie Christie and Tom Stafford, D18
  7. Jon Worthington, D18
  8. James Miller, Laser EPS
  9. Mat Pollock and Pete Clements, Tornado
  10. Mike Dodd and Paul Oliver, D18
  11. Conal Scholes, D18

Roy Sheriff captured some video which can be seen below.

Footage by Roy Sheriff

We’d like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year and hope that 2020 is a prosperous one! The sailing programme will be ready very soon and some key dates will be published in the near future.

Sailing Calendar 2022